Why should I use nymea?

The lockdown periods during the Pandemic have given me the opportunity to ‘play’ with quite a few smart home systems and whilst I am no expert and don’t have any affiliation with any vendors; it has raised a lot of questions in my mind.

So having ‘played’ with nymea for a few weeks now - I can’t help thinking - “why use nymea instead of any of the other popular solutions out there?”.

I am not a developer so can’t help nymea by creating plugins, but thought it might help to stimulate some debate to help nymea get the community perspective on their product.

Thanks

2 Likes

Hey 3more,

I guess why you should use nymea instead of any other is probably a question that you can only answer for yourself. For me personally, the answer is clear, but I guess my perspective, being a developer of nymea, doesn’t count here. We believe we’re doing a lot of things right, better than the competition, and we’re also aware that there are fields where we’re lagging behind the competition.

If you’re looking for great and fluid user experience, a good combination of ease of use and flexibility, or if you’re looking for privacy, local-first and security, I believe nymea is a good choice. I could go on with praising things I think are awesome in nymea, but I’m having a hard time praising things I did myself and rather would let you - our community - decide on that. According to your other posts, I would believe there’s at least something that got us your attention :slight_smile:

In any case, if you decide that nymea is the right choice for you, rest assured that we’re happy to see you here and value your feedback.

Well as you point out @mzanetti - the start to answering this question is to understand nymea’s uniqueness.